Woman of the Year

The Woman of the Year program at Ursuline Academy began in 1986 as part of the school’s 90th anniversary celebration to recognize and honor outstanding alumnae.

Numerous Ursuline graduates have distinguished themselves in careers as varied as health care, the arts and sciences, education, business, and countless other fields. Just as important to the Ursuline tradition are those alumnae who have lived lives of service to their families, church, and community. All of these achievements are deserving of recognition and are cause for great pride on the part of everyone associated with Ursuline Academy.

Teresa Davis Mulligan '90 is 2019 Woman of the Year

Ursuline Academy is pleased to announce Teresa Davis Mulligan '90 as the 2019 Woman of the Year! Teresa has experienced Ursuline as a student, Development Committee member, Board of Trustee member, alumna, and now parent! Teresa's love of and dedication to Ursuline, and living out what she learned here, have earned her the distinction of being the 2019 Woman of the Year Award recipient.

Through every turn of her life, Teresa has lived out our motto of learning not just for school, but for life. Her love for math was awakened as an underclasswoman by Ms. Krueger when she discovered for the first time that she truly loved math. While a student at the College of the Holy Cross, an advisor noticed Teresa's passion and skill in her mathematics classes and encouraged her to pursue it as her profession. Teresa went on to get her Bachelor's degree in Mathematics from Holy Cross. Not content to sit in academia however, and wanting to apply her skills out in the real world, Teresa pursued a business degree with a concentration in finance and accounting from Boston University. This was the perfect practical application of mathematics that allowed her to use her knowledge to think critically.

Teresa went on to use her skills in a variety of public accounting and finance roles. Currently Teresa is the Vice President of Portfolio Analytics and Governance for Fidelity Investments. In this role, Teresa gets to practice what she considers Ursuline's greatest strength—asking women to think about what they're learning, apply critical thinking skills, and find answers to problems.

Since she donned her laurel wreath in 1990, Teresa has been a faithful supporter of Ursuline by sharing of her time, talent, and treasure. The examples are too numerous to name, but highlights include being a speaker at the very first Ursuline Symposium in 2000, six years of service as a Board of Trustee member, and, perhaps most importantly, sharing her own daughter Mae with us. Mae is a member of the Class of 2022. Ursuline is grateful for the generosity that Teresa has shown, helping to ensure that not only Mae but any young woman who wants an Ursuline education has the opportunity available to her.

We are so grateful to count Teresa as a member of our community, and as one of our outstanding alumnae.