Thirty five Ursuline students inducted into Spanish Honor Society
Posted 10/14/2011 05:29PM

Thirty-five Ursuline Academy students were inducted into the Spanish Honor Society on Oct. 10. Under the leadership of senior SHS co-presidents, Marisa Reddy and Amanda Sosnowski, the inductees declared their dedication to the study of the Spanish language and culture. The newly inducted members are: Serena Ajabani, Amaryllis Biduaka, Candace Borders, Maggie Boyer, Cate Brinker, Grace Castelli, Michelle Christy, Mary Ernst, Makiah Estes, Ally Fenter, Kristen George, Darci Gorsuch, Ashley Gray, Stephanie Hagedorn, Elizabeth Hellman, Allison Hogan, Emily Holmes, Haley Johnson, Heather Knorr, Katherine Masterson, Elise McConnell, Abby Meehan, Hannah Mehrle, Holly Nurre, Mallory Perazzo, Marisa Pike, Maya Prabhu, Ellen Rootring, Hannah Schlaack, Lilli Stein, Kristen Weickert, Emily Westerfield, Katie Wheeler, Emily White, and Taylor Woellert.

The SHS of Ursuline Academy was established in 1984 by Spanish teacher and club moderator, Ruthanne Palmer, for the purpose of helping the members to expand their cultural awareness and to improve their speaking skills in Spanish, which is spoken at the twice monthly SHS meetings. Eligibility for induction into the SHS includes the student having at least an "A-" average for four semesters of Spanish, continuing interest in the language, and attendance at SHS meetings which consist of such activities as Spanish-speaking guest speakers, study of Spanish-speaking cultures, and games that require use of the language.