Guidance

The Guidance Department strives to support students within the context of Ursuline core values and philosophy: attention to the needs of the individual; emphasis on the development of the student as a whole person; openness to diversity; recognition of the gifts and dignity of every student; promotion of academic excellence; and empowerment of the student. The Guidance Department provides individual counseling, guidance classes, test preparation and interpretation, and college readiness tools. The department works with students on academic, behavioral, social, and emotional concerns. A key component of the program is ongoing collaboration with students, faculty, and parents.

Student Assistance Council (SAC). The SAC council meets regularly to address individual student issues that may be having a significant, adverse effect on educational performance. The council is comprised of an administrator, school counselors, school psychologist, and the academic language consultant.

Speech and Language. School speech and language services are provided by our academic language consultant to develop and improve language-based learning strategies for students needing such assistance. Individual and/or small group sessions can be scheduled.

Psychology. School psychological services are available to students and parents for consultation, counseling, and assessment regarding academic, behavioral, and emotional concerns.


Guidance Faculty

Ms. Katie Hausfeld, Department Coordinator, Freshman/Sophomore Counselor

B.S., Northern Kentucky University

M.A., Xavier University

Employed at Ursuline since 2009

khausfeld@ursulineacademy.org

(513) 791-5791 ext. 1274

Ms. Michelle Byrd, Junior/Senior Counselor

B.A., University of Cincinnati

M.A., Xavier University

Employed at Ursuline since 2010

mbyrd@ursulineacademy.org

(513) 791-5791 ext. 1280

Dr. Marilyn Grendel, Freshman/Sophomore Counselor

B.S., Ohio University

M.Ed., Xavier University

Ed.D., University of Cincinnati

Employed at Ursuline since 2000

mgrendel@ursulineacademy.org

(513) 791-5791 ext. 1278

Ms. Kim Jewett, School Psychologist

B.Mus., University of Cincinnati

M.Ed., University of Cincinnati

Employed at Ursuline since 1999

kjewett@ursulineacademy.org

(513) 791-5791 ext. 1268

Ms. Kristin Logue, Junior/Senior Counselor

B.L.A., Argosy University

M. Ed., Wright State University

Employed at Ursuline since 2015

klogue@ursulineacademy.org

(513) 791-5791 ext. 1282

Ms. Alexis Nordrum, School Psychologist

B.A., Brown University

M. Ed., University of Cincinnati

Ed.S., University of Cincinnati

Employed at Ursuline since 2012

anordrum@ursulineacademy.org

(513) 791-5791 ext. 1290

Ms. Liz Vorholt, Junior/Senior Counselor

B.S., Xavier University

M.A., Xavier University

Employed at Ursuline since 2014

evorholt@ursulineacademy.org

(513) 791-5791 ext. 1284

Ms. Vicki Zaya, Junior/Senior Counselor

B.S., Xavier University

M.A., Xavier University

Employed at Ursuline since 2015

vzaya@ursulineacademy.org

(513) 791-5791 ext. 1288

Ms. Patt Zurlinden, Academic/Language Consultant

B.A., Cleveland State University

M.A., Cleveland State University

Employed at Ursuline since 1999

pzurlinden@ursulineacademy.org

(513) 791-5791 ext. 1266

Ms. Katy Zwolinski, Freshman/Sophomore Counselor

B. S., Florida State University

M.A. Xavier University

Employed at Ursuline since 2012

kzwolinski@ursulineacademy.org

(513) 791-5791 ext. 1276

Ms. Jenny Foertsch, Administrative Assistant

Employed at Ursuline since 1996

jfoertsch@ursulineacademy.org

(513) 791-5791 ext. 2100

Ms. Sue Kellison, Administrative Assistant for Auxiliary Services

Employed at Ursuline since 1993

skellison@ursulineacademy.org

(513) 791-5791 ext. 1252