Social Studies

The Social Studies curriculum provides students the opportunity to gain knowledge, to develop intellectual skills, and to assume a sense of responsibility as members of their community, nation, and world. Core courses encompassing historical, geographic, economic and political studies are required to encourage each student to achieve this purpose. The Social Studies program provides an opportunity to explore a range of cultures, by educating students in both the historical roots and contemporary issues surrounding political, economic, legal, social and psychological components of the world. The curriculum equips students to assess social and political issues, evaluate evidence and data, and effectively organize pertinent material. Additionally, students will develop skills in inquiry methods, research writing, public speaking and debating.

In addition to World History, U.S. History, and American Government, Ursuline offers the following Social Studies courses:

    • AP World History
    • AP U.S. History
    • AP American Government
    • American Studies
    • Economics
    • AP Economics
    • Introduction to Psychology
    • AP Psychology
    • AP Human Geography
    • Women in the Public Sphere

Social Studies Faculty

Mr. John Gerhardt, Department Coordinator

B.A. Ohio University

J.D., University of Cincinnati

M.Ed., Xavier University

At Ursuline since 2012

jgerhardt@ursulineacademy.org

Ms. Tammy Bowman

B.S., Cumberland College

M.S., University of Dayton

M. Hum., Wright State University

At Ursuline since 2005

tbowman@ursulineacademy.org

Ms. Elizabeth Gromada

B.A., George Washington University

M. Ed., Xavier University

At Ursuline since 2007

egromada@ursulineacademy.org

Ms. Kelsey Bladh Randall '04

B.A., John Jay College of Criminal Justice

B.A., University of Cincinnati

B.A., University of Cincinnati

M. A, Columbia University

Post Graduate work at Xavier University

At Ursuline since 2015

krandall@ursulineacademy.org

Ms. Betty Thaman

B.A., University of Cincinnati

Graduate work at University of Cincinnati & Xavier University

At Ursuline since 1983

bthaman@ursulineacademy.org

Ms. Michele Walters

B. A. Seton Hill University

J.D. Salmon P. Chase College of Law, Northern Kentucky University

Post-graduate work at Xavier University

At Ursuline since 2011

mwalters@ursulineacademy.org