Science

The science department at Ursuline Academy emphasizes the interrelationships between science, technology, and our society. Students are prepared to make evidence-based decisions that reflect an understanding of the scientific method. Students will also develop and apply skills for the study of science, including: laboratory methods, scientific inquiry, problem-solving techniques, and logical and mathematical reasoning.

In addition to Biology, Chemistry, and Physics, Ursuline offers the following Science courses:

    • Environmental Science
    • Human Anatomy & Physiology
    • Forensic Science
    • AP Biology
    • AP Chemistry
    • AP Physics
    • Introduction to Engineering

Science Faculty

Ms. Monika Nuñez, Department Coordinator

B.S., Xavier University

M.Ed., Xavier University

At Ursuline since 2006

mnunez@ursulineacademy.org

Ms. Susan Keller Barhorst '91

B.S., Xavier University

M.Ed., Xavier University

Post-graduate work at Ashland University, Miami University, & Xavier University

At Ursuline since 1997

sbarhorst@ursulineacademy.org

Ms. Becky Johnson

B. A., Oberlin College

M.Div., Starr King School for the Ministry

Post-graduate work, Xavier University

At Ursuline since 2012

bjohnson@ursulineacademy.org

Ms. Meghan Kemphaus

B.S., Hanover University

M. Ed., Wright State University

At Ursuline since 2013

mkemphaus@ursulineacademy.org

Ms. Alecia Kellett Lewkowich '97

B.S., University of Dayton

B.A., University of Dayton

M.Ed., University of Cincinnati

M.A., Roosevelt University

At Ursuline since 2011

alewkowich@ursulineacademy.org

Ms. Hayden Emery Mericle '98

B.A., Miami University

M.S., Ohio State University

At Ursuline since 2012

hmericle@ursulineacademy.org

Ms. Stephanie Meyers '01

B.A., Miami University

M.S., Miami University

M.Ed., Xavier University

At Ursuline since 2016

smeyers@ursulineacademy.org

Mr. Dan Nieman

B.S., University of Cincinnati

At Ursuline since 1993

dnieman@ursulineacademy.org

Ms. Diane Neyer Rose '74

B.S., Miami University

M.A., Xavier University

At Ursuline since 1981

drose@ursulineacademy.org

Ms. Julie Urso

B.S., University of Dayton

M.A., Miami University

At Ursuline since 2016

jurso@ursulineacademy.org