Mathematics

The mathematics department at Ursuline Academy is committed to a core college preparatory curriculum that reflects the standards established by the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics. Students learn the value of mathematics and how to apply mathematical techniques confidently, skillfully, and accurately. Students are challenged to reason mathematically, to become effective critical thinkers, to communicate mathematically, and to become proficient users of technology. Students are encouraged to study mathematics appropriate to their abilities, interests, and ambitions.

In addition to Algebra I & II, Geometry, and Precalculus, Ursuline offers the following Math courses:

    • AP Calculus AB
    • AP Calculus BC
    • AP Statistics

Mathematics Faculty

Ms. Brenda Kahan, Department Coordinator

B.S., The Ohio State University

At Ursuline since 2000

bkahan@ursulineacademy.org

Ms. Ashley Bieber

B.S., Indiana University

M.S., Indiana University

At Ursuline since 2012

abieber@ursulineacademy.org

Ms. Jenny Grathwohl Breissinger '88

B.S., University of Tennessee

M. Ed., Xavier University

At Ursuline since 2002

jbreissinger@ursulineacademy.org

Ms. Sarah Downs

B.S., Miami University

At Ursuline since 2005

sdowns@ursulineacademy.org

Ms. Roseanna Gibbons

B.S., University of Notre Dame

M. A., University of Incarnate Word, San Antonio TX

At Ursuline since 2007

rgibbons@ursulineacademy.org

Ms. Chrissy Keller

B.S., Xavier University

M.Ed., Xavier University

At Ursuline since 2016

ckeller@ursulineacademy.org

Mr. Paul Kirila

B.A. University of Cincinnati

M.Ed., Xavier University

At Ursuline since 2013

pkirila@ursulineacademy.org