English

The English department is dedicated to fostering the understanding, appreciation, and creative expression of thought and meaning through the use of language in its core curriculum and electives. English courses combine a survey of various literature selections with the study of critical reading, new vocabulary, writing strategies, research skills, grammar usage, and public speaking. Overall, the curriculum is writing intensive. As students advance through the grade levels, texts and writing assignments become more complex, and language lessons are sequentially introduced and reinforced to support this complexity. This curriculum provides students with confidence, practice, and mastery in the language arts.

Ursuline Academy has developed a writing program which is incorporated into the required English class. Based on the belief that all writing is creative and that through introducing, teaching and reinforcing writing types and specific skills in a sequential manner, teachers encourage mastery and proficiency in the art of writing.

In addition to English I, II, III, and IV, Ursuline offers the following English courses:

    • American Studies
    • AP English Language and Composition
    • AP English Literature
    • Creative Writing
    • Public Speaking


English Faculty

Dr. Ann Hinkle, Department Coordinator

B.A., Xavier University

M.A., Miami University

Ph. D., University of Kent, Canterbury, England

At Ursuline since 2005

ahinkle@ursulineacademy.org

Ms. Sarah Geers

B.S., Ohio University

M.Ed., Xavier University

At Ursuline since 2016

sgeers@ursulineacademy.org

Ms. Kori Holliday '09

B.S., Miami University

At Ursuline since 2014

kholliday@ursulineacademy.org

Ms. Corey Holthaus

B.A., The Ohio State University

Post-graduate work, Xavier University

At Ursuline since 2010

cholthaus@ursulineacademy.org

Ms. Cathi Schellhous

B.S., University of Cincinnati

M.Ed., Northern Kentucky University

At Ursuline since 1979

cschellhous@ursulineacademy.org

Dr. Kathy Geraci Stall '76

B.A., University of Dayton

M.A., Xavier University

Ph. D., Duquesne University

At Ursuline since 2002

kstall@ursulineacademy.org

Ms. Julie Whalen

B.S., University of Cincinnati

B.A., University of Cincinnati

At Ursuline since 2016

jwhalen@ursulineacademy.org

Ms. Shauna Whelan

B. S., University of Dayton

M.A., Loyola of Chicago

At Ursuline since 2005

swhelan@ursulineacademy.org